carmarthen county bowling association

county_web_badge gravells-logo

Championship Team - 2018























Dion Peregrin (Ammanford Park)


Alan Watkins (Graig Merthyr)


Keiron Peregrine (Amm'd Park)


David Kingdon (Kidwelly Town)

Joshua Jones (Kidwelly Town)


Chaad Bowling (Graig Merthyr)


Daniel Barnett (Parc-y-Dre)


Rob Chisholm (Parc-y-Dre)

Ashley Williams (Parc-y-Dre)


Phil Nicholas (Brynhyfryd)


Mark Davies (Kidwelly Town)


Matthew Partridge (Parc-y-Dre)

Neil Taylor (Blue Anchor)


Jordan Driscoll (Kidwelly Town)


Nicky Collins (Kidwelly Town)


Jon G Williams (Blue Anchor)

Ben Matthews (Graig Merthyr)


Keith Evans (Kidwelly Town)


Leigh Moses (Havelock Park)


Wyn Matthews (Graig Merthyr)

Mark Watkins (Graig Merthyr)


Peter Williams (Carmarthen)


Martyn Harries (Carmarthen)


Colin Davies (Carmarthen)

RESERVES FROM: John Morgan, David Phillips, Jamie Jones, Clive Hopkins, Joshua Boyce

DRESS CODE: County Shirt & White Trousers/White shirt & Grey Trousers & County Jackets after the game.

TRANSPORT: By Car. Players to arrive not later than 9:00am

MATCH FEE: £7.00

        Carmarthen County v Monmouthshire

County Championship Semi-final Match Report

         Carmarthen County reached their first County Championship semi-final since 2002 by finishing the group section of the championship as runners up in section A. This meant that they faced a tough task against section B winners Monmouthshire, the pre-tournament favourites.

         The game started evenly with the rinks keeping things tight and at five end Carmarthen only trailed by five shots, this was mainly down to the rink skipped by Robert Chisholm that had made a bright start and led five nil, dropping seven shots on the fifth end. Jonathon Williams and his rink were maintaining the form they had shown throughout the season and lead five shots to one, all of the other rinks were nip and tuck with the odd shot separating them.

         The next five ends saw fortunes fluctuate with Chisholm dropping a four on the sixth end to go eleven five down but then battle back to close the gap to twelve nine, Matthew Partridges rink however had not scored and trailed thirteen shots to two shots and Wyn Matthews rink had also struggled and trailed by five shots.

          By the fifteenth end Carmarthen County had reduced the deficit to fifteen shots with Matthew’s rink fighting back to close the gap to only one shot and Williams leading by six shots. David Kingdon trailed by one and Colin Davies lead by one. Partridge and Chisholm’s rinks were both still struggling and trailed by nine and six shots respectively, this was down to not having enough bowls in the head and in some cases a fair share of luck for their opponents.

          Monmouthshire suffered a set back when the rink skipped by Richard Underwood who had been superb all morning surprisingly dropped a seven to David Kingdon, this reduced the deficit to single figures and thoughts of an upset were briefly on the cards. This threat was immediately stamped out by the Monmouthshire team, who instead of folding fought back with forceful bowling across the green and they pulled away to comfortably win the match by twenty-nine shots.  

          Team Manager Nigel Williams, whilst being disappointed with the result praised the players for their effort and commitment during the game and throughout the season. The teams performance had improved greatly from the previous season with a good blend of youth and experience. Nigel hoped that that benefits gained from this years’ experience would stand the squad in good stead for next year when the fixtures would be reversed.

          President David Kingdon, Secretary John Phillips and Team Manager Nigel Williams thanked everyone involved with this year campaign and especially the small group of supporters who had travelled to every game to offer their vocal support.


Carmarthen County 99 shots, Monmouthshire 128 shots.


         Report by John Phillips ~ County Secretary


On Sunday 19th August.

Carmarthen County BA vrs Monmouthshire BA

County Secretarys Report below